Home » Islam Topics » 'Aqeedah » A Question To Pose – How Do I Find God ?

A Question To Pose – How Do I Find God ?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

[Section from Sh. Gibril Haddad]

A Question To Pose:

All human beings must seek the answer to the following question, and they should do this in their best interest:

How do I find God?

Having answered it, they must then set out to verify the truth of their answer by finding God in fact, not in theory.

Finding (wujûd) also has the meaning of existence or being.

Important: What is at stake here is not the mental or philosophical concept of Being,

but experiencing God\’s Being as \’tasting\’ (dhauq).

Because of the fact that in this existence there is nothing but the necessary Existent, which is God, from which all other so-called existences or \’beings\’ are derived or \’on loan\’, there has to be in this life a constant lifting of those veils which separate us from God,

therefore the above question of \”how do I find God?\” has to be reformulated into:

*

*

*

How can I remove the veils, that prevent me from seeing God?

via A Question To Pose.

-Shaykh Gibril Haddad

________________________________________

[Or how I would state the question]

Every human being knows that before it existed, it didn’t.

Then it must ask “Who is the One I should worship for bringing me into Existence?”

This is the meaning of being “born” in a state of Fitra, or fitrah, [ is an Arabic word meaning ‘disposition’, ‘nature’, ‘constitution’, or ‘instinct’.  ]

The human being may then wander, as Nabi Ibrahim showed, seeking the Source of its existence, until it arrives at the Truth that the One it must worship is Unseen, or not yet seen.

Or, as Rasulullah s.a.w. mentioned, it may be fed wrong answers, turning it into a Jew, Christian, Hindu, or whatnot.  If it is careless and self-satisfied, it may accept these answers, and continue lingering in its obvious doubts, while simultaneously insisting on the “rightness” of its adopted falsehoods.  Hence, it makes Kufr, meaning it covers the truth with its own adopted lies.

Or it may continue pondering those instinctual doubts, seeking the True answers, until its Lord wills Guidance for it and instigates the moment and circumstance for its introduction to the Right Path (Islam).  Through Responsible Acknowledgement (Iman) in that Path, and striving along it, one may continue to its destination;  to die as one that Submitted to God in life.

It is also possible that one being dissatisfied with the moon’s mere reflectiveness, may continue striving to seek Vision of the Actual Source of Light, as Shaykh Gibril indicated, “Oh, God, please remove the veils from my eyes”.  This is the state described in the Hadith:

ALLAH (mighty and sublime be He) said:
Whosoever shows enmity to someone devoted to Me, I shall be at war with him. My servant draws not near to Me with anything more loved by Me than the religious duties I have enjoined upon him, and My servant continues to draw near to Me with supererogatory works so that I shall love him. When I love him, I am his hearing with which he hears, his seeing with which he sees, his hand with which he strikes and his foot with which he walks. Were he to ask [something] of Me, I would surely give it to him, and were he to ask Me for refuge, I would surely grant him it. I do not hesitate about anything as much as I hesitate about [seizing] the soul of My faithful servant: he hates death, and I hate hurting him.”
[Bukhari]

Leave a Reply

